Otaku USA Magazine
Hayao Miyazaki Whips Up Album Art for Ghibli Cover Song Collection

ghibliGiovanni Mirabassi—an Italian jazz pianist who has a history of covering the music of Studio Ghibli films—is about to release another collection of covers on December 18. Titled MITAKA CALLING – Mitaka no Yobigoe –, the new album features songs from Spirited Away, Princess Mononoke, Ponyo, and many more, and he even managed to get revered director Hayao Miyazaki to illustrate the cover.

Miyazaki has had a friendship with Mirabassi since he went to his concert in Japan back in January of 2015. On the topic of his new album, Miyazaki said, “I love Mirabassi-san’s piano. Freedom and passion, that’s exactly what he is.”

Here’s Miyazaki’s cover:

And Mirabassi’s tracklist for MITAKA CALLING:

 1. “Ano Natsu he” (Sprited Away)
 2. “Ashitaka Sekki” (Princess Mononoke)
 3. “Umi no Mieru Machi” (Kiki’s Delivery Service)
 4. “Flying boatmen” (Porco Rosso)
 5. “Castorp (Ma no Yama)” (The Wind Rises)
 6. “Doom -Kumo no Wana-“ (Porco Rosso)
 7. “Ohm tono Kouryu” (Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind)
 8. “Gake no Ue no Ponyo” (Ponyo)
 9. “Tonari no Totoro” (My Neighbor Totoro)

Source: Press release via Crunchyroll